Article Text

other Versions

PDF

Chromogenic in-situ hybridisation (CISH) should be an accepted method in the routine diagnostic evaluation of HER2 status in breast cancer
  1. Silvana Di Palma (silvana.dipalma{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
  1. The Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
    1. Nadine Collins (ncollins{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
    1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
      1. Cate Faulkes (c.faulkes{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
      1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
        1. Bruno Ping (b.ping{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
        1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
          1. Gordon Ferns (g.ferns{at}surrey.ac.uk)
          1. University of Surrey, United Kingdom
            1. Ben Haagsma (b.haagsma{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
            1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
              1. Mark Kissin (m.kissin{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
              1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
                1. Graham Layer (g.layer{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
                1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom
                  1. Martin Cook (m.cook{at}royalsurrey.nhs.uk)
                  1. Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom

                    Abstract

                    Introduction: HER2 protein over-expression or gene amplification is detected in approximately 20% breast tumours, is associated with an aggressive phenotype and is predictive of response to trastuzumab therapy. The use of chromogenic in situ hybridisation (CISH) for evaluating HER2 status routinely is recognised in much of Europe but has yet to achieve widespread acceptance in the UK. Methods: CISH analysis for HER2 status was performed on 161 breast cancer cases. Results were compared to immunohistochemistry (IHC) and dual colour fluorescent in situ hybridisation (FISH) data. Results: There was 100% concordance between CISH and FISH but only 93.8% concordance between CISH and IHC. Performing CISH 'in-house' was found to cost approximately 50% less than the FISH / IHC protocol at the reference laboratory. Conclusion: It is concluded that CISH is as accurate as FISH for diagnostic purposes and is more cost-effective than the IHC / FISH regimen currently favoured in the UK.

                    • CISH
                    • Diagnostic
                    • FISH
                    • HER2
                    • Routine

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.