Article Text

other Versions

PDF
EpCAM is predominantly expressed in high grade and advanced stage urothelial carcinomas of the bladder
  1. Andrea Brunner (andrea.brunner{at}i-med.ac.at)
  1. Institute of Pathology, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria
    1. Martina Prelog (martina.prelog{at}i-med.ac.at)
    1. Department of Pediatrics, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria
      1. Irmgard Verdorfer (irmgard.verdorfer{at}i-med.ac.at)
      1. Institute of Pathology, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria
        1. Alexandar Tzankov (atzankov{at}uhbs.ch)
        1. Institute of Pathology, University of Basel, Switzerland
          1. Gregor Mikuz (gregor.mikuz{at}i-med.ac.at)
          1. Institute of Pathology, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria
            1. Christian Ensinger (christian.ensinger{at}i-med.ac.at)
            1. Institute of Pathology, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria

              Abstract

              Introduction: EpCAM is an adhesion molecule of the basolateral membranes in a variety of epithelial cells. Over-expression has been detected in many epithelial tumors and has been associated with high stage, high grade and a worse survival in some tumor types. To assess the prognostic value of EpCAM in urothelial carcinoma (UC) of the bladder we performed an immunohistochemical study.

              Methods: EpCAM expression was analysed by immunohistochemistry using a monoclonal antibody (clone VU-1D9) on a tissue microarray comprising 99 UCs of the bladder diagnosed between 1994 and 1997.

              Results: A significant relationship between high grade, advanced stage, and EpCAM expression was found. Though expression of EpCAM was associated with a worse overall survival when compared to EpCAM negative tumors (p=0.033). Multivariate analysis showed that EpCAM expression was not an independent prognostic factor for overall survival in UC of the bladder.

              Conclusion: EpCAM expression is associated with advanced stage, high grade and poor OS in UCs of the bladder, but lacks an independent prognostic significance. The strong association with high grade tumors points at a possible role during tumor progression and makes EpCAM a potential target for antibody mediated therapy

              • EpCAM
              • bladder
              • prognosis
              • urothelial carcinoma

              Statistics from Altmetric.com

              Request permissions

              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.