Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Hormone-sensitive prostate cancer: a case report of ETS gene fusion heterogeneity
  1. Gerhardt Attard (gerhardt.attard{at}icr.ac.uk)
  1. The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
    1. Charles Jameson (charles.jameson{at}rmh.nhs.uk)
    1. The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
      1. Joana Moreira (joana.moreira{at}icr.ac.uk)
      1. The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
        1. Penny Flohr (penny.flohr{at}icr.ac.uk)
        1. The Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom
          1. Christopher Parker (chris.parker{at}icr.ac.uk)
          1. The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
            1. David Dearnaley (david.dearnaley{at}icr.ac.uk)
            1. The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
              1. Colin Cooper (colin.cooper{at}icr.ac.uk)
              1. The Institute of Cancer Research, United Kingdom
                1. Johann S De Bono (jdebono{at}icr.ac.uk)
                1. The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom

                  Abstract

                  The presence of ETS gene re-arrangements in prostate cancer may indicate worse prognosis with the sub-class 2+Edel, which has duplication of the re-arrangement, indicating particularly poor survival. However as this case demonstrates, significant heterogeneity can exist with ERG and ETV1 rearrangements occurring in both PIN and cancer in the same prostatectomy specimen and with adjacent cancer areas containing a single copy, duplication and even triplication of the rearranged locus. As the majority of ETS gene fusions are hormone regulated, they could explain the pathogenesis underlying exquisitely hormone-sensitive prostate cancer exemplified by the case presented here of a patient diagnosed in 1991 who remains asymptomatic and chemotherapy-naïve after having long-lasting tumour responses to multiple lines of systemic hormonal treatments.

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.