Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Thyrotropin-secreting pituitary tumors: significance of “atypical adenomas” in a series of 10 patients and association with hashimoto’s thyroiditis as a cause of delay in diagnosis.
  1. Gianluca Marucci (gianluca.marucci{at}ausl.bologna.it)
  1. Section of Pathology, Department of Haematology and Oncology of the University of Bologna, Italy
    1. Marco Faustini-Fustini (marco.faustini{at}ausl.bologna.it)
    1. Endocrine Unit, Department of Medicine, Bellaria Hospital, Bologna, Italy
      1. Alberto Righi (pera_alberto1978{at}yahoo.it)
      1. Section of Pathology, Department of Haematology and Oncology of the University of Bologna, Italy
        1. Ernesto Pasquini (ernesto.pasquini{at}aosp.bo.it)
        1. Center of Surgery for Pituitary Tumors, Bellaria Hospital, Bologna, Italy
          1. Giorgio Frank (giorgio.frank{at}ausl.bologna.it)
          1. Center of Surgery for Pituitary Tumors, Bellaria Hospital, Bologna, Italy
            1. Raffaele Agati (raffaele.agati{at}ausl.bologna.it)
            1. Department of Neuroradiology, Bellaria Hospital, Italy
              1. Maria Pia Foschini (mariapia.foschini{at}ausl.bologna.it)
              1. Section of Pathology, Department of Haematology and Oncology of the University of Bologna, Italy

                Abstract

                Aims: Thyrotropin-secreting adenomas (TSH-As) are rare and, according to the World Health Organization criteria (WHO 2004), a significative part of them present features of atypical adenomas at the time of diagnosis. The present study focuses on the frequency of “atypical adenomas” and the significance of this definition as regards the follow-up. Furthermore, their possible association with Hashimoto thyroiditis, leading to a delay in diagnosis, is presented.

                Methods: Cases relative to patients who underwent transsphenoidal surgery between 1992 and 2006 were retrieved. Follow-up ranged from 6 to 180 months.

                Results: Ten cases of TSH –As out of 908 pituitary adenomas were selected. Before surgery, eight patients had hyperthyroidism, one was euthyroid and another one showed hypothyroidism associated with Hashimoto's thyroiditis. All cases were macroadenomas, six of them invasive. Three cases met the criteria for classification as atypical. In none of the cases, including the three “atypical adenomas”, were clinical or radiological signs of recurrence observed.

                Conclusions: The three cases with features of atypical adenoma didn’t recur nor metastatize, suggesting that, at least in the present series, a strict relationship between the morphological criteria for diagnosing atypical adenomas and the biological behavior may be sometimes lacking. Furthermore, the casual association of TSH –As with Hashimoto thyroiditis may led to an adjunctive delay in diagnosis, because of low thyroid hormone levels.

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.